Loading... Please wait...

Depeche Mode ‎– Black Celebration / Sony Music ‎Audio CD 2007 / 88883750682

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Depeche Mode ‎– Black Celebration / Sony Music ‎Audio CD 2007 / 88883750682

UPC 886444049191


Product Details: 

Label: Sony Music ‎– 88883750682
Format: CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered, Collectors Edition
Country: Europe
Released: 2007
Genre: Electronic
Style: Industrial, Synth-pop

Black Celebration is the fifth studio album by English electronic music band Depeche Mode. It was released on 17 March 1986 by Mute Records. The album further cemented the darkening sound created by Alan Wilder, which the band later used for their subsequent albums Music for the MassesViolator, and Songs of Faith and Devotion, a sound that was initially hinted towards on their albums Construction Time Again and Some Great Reward.

Black Celebration reached number four on the UK Albums Chart, and has been cited as one of the most influential albums of the 1980s.[2] To promote the album, the band embarked on the Black Celebration Tour. Three years after its release, Spin ranked it at number fifteen on its list of the "25 Greatest Albums of All Time".



Editorial review:

Whether the band felt it was simply the time to move on from its most explicit industrial-pop fusion days, or whether increased success and concurrently larger venues pushed the music into different avenues, Depeche Mode's fifth studio album, Black Celebration, saw the group embarking on a path that in many ways defined their sound to the present: emotionally extreme lyrics matched with amped-up tunes, as much anthemic rock as they are compelling dance, along with stark, low-key ballads. The slow, sneaky build of the opening title track, with a strange distorted vocal sample providing a curious opening hook, sets the tone as David Gahan sings of making it through "another black day" while powerful drums and echoing metallic pings carry the song. Black Celebration is actually heavier on the ballads throughout, many sung by Martin Gore -- the most per album he has yet taken lead on -- with notable dramatic beauties including "Sometimes," with its surprise gospel choir start and rough piano sonics, and the hyper-nihilistic "World Full of Nothing." The various singles from the album remain definite highlights, such as "A Question of Time," a brawling, aggressive number with a solid Gahan vocal, and the romantic/physical politics of "Stripped," featuring particularly sharp arrangements from Alan Wilder. However, with such comparatively lesser-known but equally impressive numbers as the quietly intense romance of "Here Is the House" to boast, Black Celebration is solid through and through.



1 Black Celebration 4:57
2 Fly On The Windscreen - Final 
3 A Question Of Lust 4:23
4 Sometimes 1:54
5 It Doesn't Matter Two 2:51
6 A Question Of Time 4:09
7 Stripped 4:17
8 Here Is The House 4:16
9 World Full Of Nothing 2:49
10 Dressed In Black 2:34
New Dress 3:46



About the Band:

Depeche Mode are an English electronic music band formed in Basildon, Essex in 1980. The group as of now consists of a trio of Dave Gahan (lead vocals and co-songwriting), Martin Gore (keyboards, guitar, co-lead vocals and main songwriting), and Andy Fletcher (keyboards).

Depeche Mode released their debut album Speak & Spell in 1981, bringing the band onto the British new wave scene. Founding member Vince Clarke left after the release of the album; they recorded A Broken Frame as a trio. Gore took over as main songwriter and, later in 1982, Alan Wilder replaced Clarke, establishing a lineup that continued for 13 years.

The band's last albums of the 1980s, Black Celebration and Music for the Masses, established them as a dominant force within the electronic music scene. A highlight of this era was the band's June 1988 concert at the Pasadena Rose Bowl, where they drew a crowd in excess of 60,000 people. In early 1990, they released Violator, an international mainstream success. The following album, Songs of Faith and Devotion, released in 1993, was also a success, though internal struggles within the band during recording and touring resulted in Wilder's departure in 1995.

Depeche Mode has had 54 songs in the UK Singles Chart and 17 top 10 albums in the UK chart; they have sold more than 100 million records worldwide. Q included the band in the list of the "50 Bands That Changed the World!". Depeche Mode also ranks number 98 on VH1's "100 Greatest Artists of All Time". In December 2016, Billboard named Depeche Mode the 10th most successful dance club artist of all time. They were nominated for induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2017 and 2018, and will be inducted as part of the Class of 2020.



More Details:

  • Engineer [Assistant - Berlin] – Peter Schmidt
  • Engineer [Assistant - London] – Richard Sullivan
  • Mastered By – Tim Young
  • Mastered By [Remastering] – Simon Heyworth
  • Photography By – Brian Griffin (3)
  • Photography By [Assisted By] – Stuart Graham (3)
  • Producer – Daniel Miller, Depeche Mode, Gareth Jones
  • Recorded By – Dave Allen* (tracks: 2)
  • Recorded By [Assistant] – Phil Tennant (tracks: 2)
  • Reissue Producer – David Rowntree
  • Reissue Producer [Co-producer] – Roland Brown
  • Written-By – M.L. Gore




Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Depeche Mode ‎– Black Celebration / Sony Music ‎Audio CD 2007 / 88883750682 to your wish list.