Bibles - Oceania - Tokelauan - Bible in My Language
 Loading... Please wait...



Tokelauan /tkəˈlən/[3] is a Polynesian language closely related to the Samoan language as well as the Tuvaluan language. It is spoken in Tokelau.

Tokelau (/ˈtkəl/) is an island country and dependent territory of New Zealand in the South Pacific Ocean that consists of three tropical coral atolls (from the northwest, AtafuNukunonu and Fakaofo, as well as Swains Island which is governed as part of American Samoa) with a combined land area of 10 km2 (4 sq mi) and a population of approximately 1,400. Its capital rotates yearly between the three atolls.[3] Tokelau lies north of the Samoan IslandsSwains Island being the nearest, east of Tuvalu, south of the Phoenix Islands, southwest of the more distant Line Islands, and northwest of the Cook Islands.

The United Nations General Assembly designates Tokelau a non-self-governing territory. Until 1976, the official name was Tokelau Islands. It is a New Zealand territory, and is sometimes referred to by its older colonial name, the Union Islands