Johann Sebastian Bach | Classical music composers | Buy CD
 Loading... Please wait...


Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach (31 March 1685 – 28 July 1750) was a German composer and musician of the late Baroque period. He is known for instrumental compositions such as the Cello Suites and Brandenburg Concertos; keyboard works such as the Goldberg VariationsThe Well-Tempered Clavier and the Toccata and Fugue in D minor; and vocal music such as the St Matthew Passion and the Mass in B minor. Since the 19th-century Bach Revival, he has been generally regarded as one of the greatest composers in the history of Western music. 

Bach enriched established German styles through his mastery of counterpointharmonic and motivic organisation, and his adaptation of rhythms, forms, and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France. Bach's compositions include hundreds of cantatas, both sacred and secular. He composed Latin church musicPassionsoratorios, and motets. He often adopted Lutheran hymns, not only in his larger vocal works, but for instance also in his four-part chorales and his sacred songs. He wrote extensively for organ and for other keyboard instruments. He composed concertos, for instance for violin and for harpsichord, and suitesas chamber music as well as for orchestraMany of his works employ the genres of canon and fugue.


  • Cantatas
  • Motets
  • Liturgical compositions in Latin
  • Passions and oratorios
  • Four-part chorales
  • Small vocal works
  • Organ compositions
  • Other keyboard works
  • Lute compositions
  • Other chamber music
  • Orchestral music
  • Canons
  • Late contrapuntal works