Loading... Please wait...



Tatar is spoken in Russia, Central Asia, Ukraine, Poland, China, Finland, Turkey and other countries. The Tatar language is a Turkic language spoken by the Tatars of historical Kazan Khanate, including modern Tatarstan and Bashkiria. Tatar, along with Russian, is the official language of the Republic of Tatarstan. The official script of Tatar language is based on the Cyrillic alphabet with some additional letters. It is spoken by about 5.3 million people.


Nikolai Ivanovitch Ilminski, a Russian Orthodox priest, translated into the Tatar language. The Institute for Bible Translation is working on a modern translation, the new testament of which has already been published.