Loading... Please wait...



Norwegian (norsk) is a North Germanic language spoken primarily in Norway, where it is the official language. Together with Swedish and Danish, Norwegian forms a continuum of more or less mutually intelligible local and regional variants

As Danish was the written language of Denmark Norway, there was no Norwegian language Bible until the independence of Norway in 1814, and for some time thereafter (see Norwegian language struggle). The independence of Norway saw the formation of the Norwegian Bible Society, which first produced Bibles in Danish, which became Bokmål as a separate Norwegian written language was formalized. A translation of the New Testament into Nynorsk was published in 1899, and of the entire Bible in 1921. Also, Jacob Jervell - Lutheran, into Norwegian