Loading... Please wait...

Hank Marvin ‎– Guitar Player / CMC Records Audio CD 2002 / 5370192

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Hank Marvin ‎– Guitar Player / CMC Records Audio CD 2002 / 5370192

UPC 0724353701925


Product Details: 

Label: CMC Records ‎– 5370192
Format: CD, Album
Country: Europe
Released: Feb 2002
Genre: Rock, Pop
Style: Instrumental


1 Dance With Me  3:49
2 Killing Me Softly  4:15
3 Ticket To Ride  5:22
4 Maya's Day  4:39
5 Lately  4:55
6 A Tall-A-Tall Dark Stranger      
7 Eleanor Rigby  2:55
8 Petite Fleur  3:20
9 Sunny Afternoon  3:45
10 Benny's Toon  2:47
11 American Pie  4:58
Midnight At The Oasis  4:21
13 Windmills Of Your Mind  4:31
14 Hotel California  5:43
15 Your Song  4:44



Editorial Review:

Hank Marvin, mostly playing a Favino acoustic guitar (and, occasionally, the "Hank Marvin"-model Fender Stratocaster), turns in some delightful work on this 58-minute CD, supported by players including Ben Marvin on guitar, Ray Martinez on bass, Gary Taylor on rhythm guitar, and Ric Eastman on drums. The music ranges across the decades from the 1950s to the 1970s -- the virtuosity is beyond question and the arrangements on familiar fare such as "Sunny Afternoon," "American Pie," "Ticket to Ride" and "Eleanor Rigby" bring out some unexpected attributes to the songs, as well -- only "Your Song" does what one would expect in its arrangement, and that tune is so pretty that one would never want to deviate too far from the basics on it. Some of the original tunes are less than memorable melodically, but the playing is always interesting enough to hold the listener, and one of them, "A Tall-A Tall Dark Stranger" could have made a good single two or three decades ago, with its rippling double-lead guitar parts. The sound is state-of-the-art, and the whole CD is a superb and worthy creation for one of England's foundation rock musicians.



About the Artist:

Born Brian Rankin, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, England.

Join Bruce Welch's Railroaders. After moving to London, Marvin and Welch operated briefly as the Geordie Boys before enlisting in an outfit called the Drifters, which evolved into the Shadows.

After The Shadows disbanded (for the first time) in 1968, Hank went solo, commencing with "Goodnight Dick".

Received indoctrination as a Jehovah's Witness in 1973.

After working with the Shadows during the late 80s he went on to record prolifically throughout the following decade.

In 2004, Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch and Brian Bennett finally reformed as the shadows, undertaking an enormous farewell tour.



Track List:

1. Dance With Me
2. Killing Me Softly
3. Ticket To Ride
4. Maya's Day
5. Lately
6. A Tall-A-Tall Dark Stranger
7. Eleanor Rigby
8. Petite Fleur
9. Sunny Afternoon
10. Benny's Toon
11. American Pie
12. Midnight At The Oasis
13. Windmills Of Your Mind
14. Hotel California
15. Your Song






Product Videos

HANK MARVIN Dance with me 03:51

From the Album GUITAR PLAYER (2002)

    From the Album GUITAR PLAYER (2002)

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Hank Marvin ‎– Guitar Player / CMC Records Audio CD 2002 / 5370192 to your wish list.