Loading... Please wait...

The Glenn Gould Edition / Beethoven - Liszt - Piano Transcriptions – Symphony No. 5, Op. 67 & No. 6, Op. 68: 1st Movement = 1. Satz / Sony Classical Audio CD 1992 / SMK 52 636

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

The Glenn Gould Edition / Beethoven - Liszt - Piano Transcriptions – Symphony No. 5, Op. 67 & No. 6, Op. 68: 1st Movement = 1. Satz / Sony Classical Audio CD 1992 / SMK 52 636

UPC 5099705263624


Glenn Herbert Gould (/ɡld/; Gold; September 25, 1932 – October 4, 1982) was a Canadian classical pianist. He was one of the most famous and celebrated pianists of the 20th century, and was renowned as an interpreter of the keyboard works of Johann Sebastian Bach. Gould's playing was distinguished by remarkable technical proficiency and a capacity to articulate the contrapuntal texture of Bach's music.

Gould rejected most of the standard Romantic piano literature by Chopin, Liszt, Rachmaninoff, and others, in favour of Bach and Beethoven mainly, along with some late-Romantic and modernist composers. Although his recordings were dominated by Bach and Beethoven, Gould's repertoire was diverse, including works by Mozart, Haydn, and Brahms; pre-Baroque composers such as Jan Pieterszoon Sweelinck, William Byrd, and Orlando Gibbons; and 20th-century composers including Paul Hindemith, Arnold Schoenberg, and Richard Strauss. Gould was known for his eccentricities, from his unorthodox musical interpretations and mannerisms at the keyboard to aspects of his lifestyle and behaviour. He stopped giving concerts at age 31 to concentrate on studio recording and other projects.

Gould was also a writer, broadcaster, composer and conductor. He was a prolific contributor to musical journals, in which he discussed music theory and outlined his musical philosophy. He performed on television and radio, and produced three musique concrète radio documentaries, the Solitude Trilogy, about isolated areas of Canada. Though known chiefly as a pianist, Gould capped off his musical career with a recording of Wagner's Siegfried Idyll as conductor.


Label: Sony Classical – SMK 52 636
Series: The Glenn Gould Edition
CD, Compilation
Country: Europe
Genre: Classical
Style: Classical, Romantic


    Symphony No. 5 In C Minor, Op. 67 = C-moll = En Ut Mineur = In Do Minore  
1   I. Allegro Con Brio 5:56
2   II. Andante Con Moto 14:29
3   III. Allegro 7:00
4   IV. Allegro 11:33



Symphony No. 6 In F Major, Op. 68, "Pastoral" = F-dur »Pastorale« = En Fa Majeur = In Fa Maggiore

5   I. Erwachen Heiterer Empfindungen Bei Der Ankunft Auf Dem Lande = Awakening Of Cheerful Feelings Upon Arrival In The Country = Éveil D'Impressions Agréables En Arrivant À La Campagne = Risveglio Di Liete Impressioni All'arrivo Im Campagna. Allegro Ma Non Troppo 9:56
  • Composed By Ludwig van Beethoven
  • Cover, Design C.C. Garbers
  • Cover, Photography By Don Hunstein
  • Liner Notes Michael Stegemann
  • Liner Notes [Traduction Des Citations D'Apres] Bruno Monsaingeon
  • Liner Notes [Traduction] Odile Demange
  • Liner Notes [Traduzione] Marco Marica
  • Liner Notes [Translation] Cecelia H. Porter
  • Mixed By [Remixed By], Engineer Darcy Proper
  • Mixed By [Remixed By], Producer Andrew Kazdin
  • Piano Glenn Gould
  • Transcription By Franz Liszt





Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Click the button below to add the The Glenn Gould Edition / Beethoven - Liszt - Piano Transcriptions – Symphony No. 5, Op. 67 & No. 6, Op. 68: 1st Movement = 1. Satz / Sony Classical Audio CD 1992 / SMK 52 636 to your wish list.