Loading... Please wait...

Rivka Golani - Viola Encores / Michele Levin - piano / Hungaroton Classic Audio CD 2009 Stereo / HCD 32645

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Rivka Golani - Viola Encores / Michele Levin - piano / Hungaroton Classic Audio CD 2009 Stereo / HCD32645

UPC 5991813264527 



Label:Hungaroton Classic - HCD 32645
Format: CD, Album
Country: Hungary
Released: 2009


1.  J. Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 3   1:56
2.  J. Brahms: Hungarian Dance No. 1   3:39
3.  E Kreisler: Liebesleid   4:09
4.  E Kreisler: Liebesfreud   3:36
5.  F. Kreisler: Schòn Rosmarin   2:01
6.  F. Kreisler-R. Heuberger: Midnight Bells   3:28
7.  F. Rreisler-E. Gaertner: Viennese Melody /Aus Wien]   2:50
8.  N. Paganini-W. Primrose: La Campanella   5:50
9.  Chr. W. Gluck: Melody (Orfeo ed Euridice)   4:12
10. S. Rachmaninov: Vocalise   6:50
11. C. M. von Weber: Andante e Rondo Ongarese   8:57
12. G. Fauré: Après un réve   3:22
13. H. Wieniawski: Etude-Caprice No. 4   2:21
14. J. Massenet: Méditation (Thais)   5:10
15. L. Godowsky-J. Heifetz: Alt-Wien   2:24
16. G. Dinicu-J. Heifetz: Hora Staccato   2:13
17. M. Bruch: Kol Nidrei   11:10



  • Viola - Rivka Golani
  • Piano - Michele Levin


Rivka Golani (Hebrew: רבקה גולני‎ , born 22 March 1946) is an Israeli viola player. She has performed as soloist with many orchestras throughout the world including the Boston Symphony, Calgary Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw, BBC Symphony, BBC Philharmonic, Hong Kong Symphony, Singapore Symphony, Royal Philharmonic, Rotterdam Philharmonic, Israel Philharmonic, Tokyo Metropolitan, Montreal Symphony and the Toronto Symphony. More than 250 pieces have been written for her, including over 60 concertos. The BBC Music Magazine included her in its list of the 200 most important instrumentalists and the five most important violists currently concertizing.

As a teacher, Golani draws students from around the world to her master classes. She holds a professorship at Trinity College of Music in London and has also taught at Birmingham Conservatoire, the University of Toronto, and London's Royal Academy of Music.

Golani was born in Tel Aviv. Her father was from Warsaw, and had lost his family in the Holocaust. Her mother was from Polish Galicia. Golani's parents were artistic, and Golani took up the violin at age 7, while her sister learned the cello.

Golani became a pupil of the violinist Alexander Moskowsky at age 18. She switched to viola at age 21 and studied with the violist Oedoen Partos, and became a member of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra. She married the Hungarian luthier Otto Erdesz, and in 1974 the couple moved to Canada, where Golani became a citizen in 1983. Erdesz manufactured for her what has been her preferred instrument throughout her career. After their divorce, Ms Golani remarried and moved to London, UK where she continues to reside with her present husband, Jeremy Fox. Golani is also a painter and has exhibited in America, Canada, Israel and the UK.

Golani's CD recordings include the Elgar Cello Concerto arranged for viola with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, the Bartok Concerto with the Budapest Symphony, Martinu's Rhapsody Concerto with the Bern Symphony, Chaconne by Pulitzer Prize winner Michael Colgrass with the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, and a three CD set of works by Johann Sebastian Bach arranged for solo viola.




Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Rivka Golani - Viola Encores / Michele Levin - piano / Hungaroton Classic Audio CD 2009 Stereo / HCD 32645 to your wish list.