Loading... Please wait...

Haydn - String Quartets Opus 64 No. 2, 4, 5 - Quatuor Mosaïques / Naïve Audio CD 2004 / E 8875

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Haydn - String Quartets Opus 64 No. 2, 4, 5 - Quatuor Mosaïques / Naïve Audio CD 2004 / E 8875

UPC 822186088753


The Quatuor Mosaïques is an Austrian string quartet, founded in 1987 by Erich Höbarth, Andrea Bischof, Anita Mitterer, and Christophe Coin, four members of the Concentus Musicus Wien who play on historical musical instruments. They specialize in music of the 18th century.

The three Austrian musicians and the French cellist Christophe Coin got to know each other in Vienna as members of Nikolaus Harnoncourt’s Concentus Musicus. With their shared experiences as a starting point, they decided to form a classical string quartet playing on period instruments. The primary aim was not to create the sort of ‘authenticity’ that belongs in museums, but rather to ensure in their work a living link to the great European quartet tradition. Hence an essential inspiration for the group was the Végh Quartet, of which Erich Höbarth had been a member for its last three years.

The Quatuor Mosaïques has received the Gramophone Award for its interpretations of Haydn. It has given concerts with pianists András Schiff and Patrick Cohen [fr], clarinettists Wolfgang and Sabine Meyer, and cellists Miklós Perényi and Raphaël Pidoux.

In 2006 the Quatuor was invited to Spain to play the quartet of Stradivari instruments belonging to the Spanish Crown. It presented a programme of Cuartetos by Arriaga at the Royal Palace in Madrid, which was subsequently recorded on CD. The Quatuor Mosaïques' very extensive repertoire includes rarely performed works by Pleyel, Tomasini, Werner, Jadin, Gross, Boëly, Schumann and Brahms. It has performed works of the early twentieth century, by composers such as Debussy, Bartók and Webern.


Label: Naïve – E 8875
Format: CD
Country: Europe
Released: 2004
Genre: Classical
Style: Classical


    String Quartet Opus 64 No. 5 "Lark", Hob.iii.63 In D Major  
1   Allegro Moderato  
2   Adagio Cantabile  
3   Menuetto Allegretto   
4   Finale Vivace 2:33



String Quartet Opus 64 No. 2, Hob.iii.68 In B Minor

5   Allegro Spiritoso  
6   Adagio Ma Non Troppo  
7   Menuetto Allegretto  
8   Finale - Presto 4:00



String Quartet Opus 64 No. 4, Hob.iii.66 In G Major

9   Allegro Con Brio  
10   Menuetto Allegretto  
11   Adagio Cantabile E Sostenuto   
12   Finale Presto   



  • Artwork Abel Faivre
  • Cello Christophe Coin
  • Composed By Joseph Haydn
  • Ensemble Quatuor Mosaïques
  • Executive-Producer Hervé Boissière
  • Liner Notes Charles Johnston
  • Liner Notes [GermanTranslation] Corinne E. Ioli
  • Producer [Recording], Engineer, Edited By Pere Casuleras
  • Viola Anita Mitterer
  • Violin Andrea Bischof, Erich Höbarth





Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Haydn - String Quartets Opus 64 No. 2, 4, 5 - Quatuor Mosaïques / Naïve Audio CD 2004 / E 8875 to your wish list.