Loading... Please wait...

Ella Fitzgerald - Queen of Jazz / Weton-Wesgram Audio CD 2005 / LATA150

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Ella Fitzgerald - Queen of Jazz / Weton-Wesgram Audio CD 2005 / LATA150

UPC 8717423022213


Ella Jane Fitzgerald (April 25, 1917 – June 15, 1996) was an American jazz singer, sometimes referred to as the "First Lady of Song", "Queen of Jazz", and "Lady Ella". She was noted for her purity of tone, impeccable diction, phrasing, timing, intonation, and a "horn-like" improvisational ability, particularly in her scat singing.

After a tumultuous adolescence, Fitzgerald found stability in musical success with the Chick Webb Orchestra, performing across the country but most often associated with the Savoy Ballroom in Harlem. Her rendition of the nursery rhyme "A-Tisket, A-Tasket" helped boost both her and Webb to national fame. After taking over the band when Webb died, Fitzgerald left it behind in 1942 to start her solo career. Her manager was Moe Gale, co-founder of the Savoy, until she turned the rest of her career over to Norman Granz, who founded Verve Records to produce new records by Fitzgerald. With Verve she recorded some of her more widely noted works, particularly her interpretations of the Great American Songbook.

While Fitzgerald appeared in movies and as a guest on popular television shows in the second half of the twentieth century, her musical collaborations with Louis Armstrong, Duke Ellington, and The Ink Spots were some of her most notable acts outside of her solo career. These partnerships produced some of her best-known songs such as "Dream a Little Dream of Me", "Cheek to Cheek", "Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall", and "It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)". In 1993, after a career of nearly 60 years, she gave her last public performance. Three years later, she died at the age of 79 after years of declining health. Her accolades included 14 Grammy Awards, the National Medal of Arts, the NAACP's inaugural President's Award, and the Presidential Medal of Freedom.


Label: Weton-Wesgram – LATA150
CD, Album
Country: Europe
Genre: Jazz




1.  I Fell In Love With A Dream

2.  All My Life

3.  I'm Getting Mighty Lonesome For You

4.  Undecided aan

5.  You Came Along Out Of Nowhere

6.  Mama Come Home 7

7.  (I Put) A Four Leaf Clover In Your Pocket

8.  Once Too Often

9.  I'm Making Believe

10. When My Sugar Walks Down

11. Melinda The Mouse

12. Untitled Instrumental






Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Click the button below to add the Ella Fitzgerald - Queen of Jazz / Weton-Wesgram Audio CD 2005 / LATA150 to your wish list.