Loading... Please wait...

Vangelis – El Greco / EastWest Audio CD 1998 / 3984-25107-2

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Vangelis – El Greco / EastWest Audio CD 1998 / 3984-25107-2

UPC 03984-25107-21

  • ASIN : B00000G42O


El Greco is a 1998 classical album by Greek electronic composer and artist Vangelis (born March 29, 1943). The title is a reference to the man who inspired the composition, Dominikos Theotokópoulos (known as El Greco, "The Greek"; 1541–1614), the painter and sculptor of the Spanish Renaissance. It consists of ten long movements performed on electronic instruments.


This album is an expansion of an earlier album by Vangelis, Foros Timis Ston Greco. That album had been released in 1995, in a limited edition. For this general release, the track order was rearranged, three new tracks were added, and the album title was changed.

Vangelis composed and arranged the album, and performed all the instruments, accompanied by a choir conducted by Ivan Cassar. The music is in a Byzantine style yet sounding contemporary due to his use of synthesizers. Soprano Montserrat Caballé and tenor Konstantinos Paliatsaras make guest appearances on one movement each.

The album reached #66 in France and #74 in Germany. At the Billboard New Age Albums chart peaked at #9 position.

The image on the album is "The Knight with His Hand on His Breast" by El Greco.


Label: EastWest – 3984-25107-2
Format: CD, Album
Country: Germany
Released: 1998
Genre: Electronic, Classical
Style: Modern Classical, Contemporary, Ambient


1   Movement I 10:04
2   Movement II 5:20
3   Movement III 6:48
4   Movement IV 6:26
5   Movement V 4:26
6   Movement VI 7:54
7   Movement VII 3:20
8   Movement VIII 9:46
9   Movement IX 11:54
  Movement X (Epilogue)   



  • Art DirectionRob Dickins
  • Composed By, Arranged By, Producer, PerformerVangelis
  • DesignPaul Chessell
  • Painting [Cover Painbting ' El Caballero De La Mano El Pecho ']El Greco (6)
  • Recorded ByFrederick Rousseau, Philippe Colonna
  • Soprano VocalsMontserrat Caballe
  • Tenor VocalsKonstantinos Paliatsaras



Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Vangelis – El Greco / EastWest Audio CD 1998 / 3984-25107-2 to your wish list.