Loading... Please wait...

Underoath – Define The Great Line / Tooth & Nail Records Audio CD 2006 / 094634265829

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Underoath – Define The Great Line / Tooth & Nail Records Audio CD 2006 

UPC 094634265829


Define the Great Line is the fifth album by American rock band Underoath. It was released on June 20, 2006, through Tooth & Nail Records. Five months after the release of their fourth studio album They're Only Chasing Safety, the band were already in the process of working towards its follow-up. Recording took place between January and March 2006 at Zing Recording Studios in Westfield, Massachusetts, and Glow in the Dark Studios in Atlanta, Georgia, with Adam Dutkiewicz of Killswitch Engage, Matt Goldman and the band as producers. Define the Great Line is predominantly a metalcore and emo album, which has also been tagged as Christian metal, post-metal and post-hardcore. The variety of styles was an unintentional move by the band, who took influence from At the Drive-In, Beloved and Cult of Luna, among others.

Preceded by festival appearances and a headlining tour in the United States, "Writing on the Walls" was released as the first single from Define the Great Line on June 27, 2006. Underoath headlined the main stage of Warped Tour, though dropped off because of tension within the band. They toured Central and South America and Canada, prior to joining the international edition of the Taste of Chaos tour. "In Regards to Myself" appeared as the second single in the midst of this on November 27, 2006, followed by the third single "You're Ever So Inviting" on January 23, 2007. Underoath spent the first half of the year touring the North America with Taking Back Sunday, Norma Jean, and Maylene and the Sons of Disaster. They appeared on Warped Tour again, and closed the year with another headlining US tour, which saw drummer Aaron Gillespie temporarily replaced by Kenny Bozich.

Define the Great Line received generally favorable reviews from music critics, many of whom highlighted the various musical styles, and praised Spencer Chamberlain for his growth as a vocalist. The album peaked at number two on the Billboard 200, becoming the highest charting Christian release on said chart since 1997. It was certified gold in the US by the Recording Industry Association of America by the end of 2006; the music video for "Writing on the Walls" was nominated for a 2007 Grammy Award for Best Short Form Music Video. Define the Great Line has been re-pressed on vinyl and performed in its entirety over the years.


Label: Tooth & Nail Records – 094634265829
CD, Album
Country: Europe
Genre: Rock
Style: Hardcore, Heavy Metal


1   In Regards To Myself 3:24
2   A Moment Suspended In Time 3:59
3   There Could Be Nothing After This 3:26
4   You're Ever So Inviting 4:13
5   Salmarnir 2:57
6   Returning Empty Handed 4:27
7   Casting Such A Thin Shadow 6:13
8   Moving For The Sake Of Motion 3:15
9   Writing On The Walls 4:02
10   Everyone Looks So Good From Here    
11   To Whom It May Concern 7:02
  • Mixed By Chris Lord-Alge
  • Producer Adam Dutkiewicz, Matt Goldman, Underøath








Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Underoath – Define The Great Line / Tooth & Nail Records Audio CD 2006 / 094634265829 to your wish list.