Simon & Garfunkel – Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme / Columbia Audio CD 2001 / 495082 2

No reviews yet Write a Review
5.00 Ounces
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Current Stock:Only left:

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. Tax
Total: Ex. Tax


Simon & Garfunkel – Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme / Columbia Audio CD 2001 / 495082 2

UPC 5099749508224


Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme is the third studio album by American music duo Simon & Garfunkel. Produced by Bob Johnston, the album was released on October 24, 1966, in the United States by Columbia Records. Following the success of the re-release of their debut single "The Sound of Silence", Simon & Garfunkel regrouped after a time apart while Columbia issued their second album, a rushed collection titled Sounds of Silence. For their third album, the duo spent almost three months in the studio working on instrumentation and production.

The album largely consists of acoustic pieces that were mostly written during Paul Simon's period in England the previous year, including some numbers recycled from his debut solo record, The Paul Simon Songbook. The album includes the Garfunkel-led piece "For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her", as well as "7 O'Clock News/Silent Night", a combination of news reports of the day (the Vietnam War, the civil rights movement, the death of comedian Lenny Bruce), and the Christmas carol "Silent Night".

Many critics have considered it a breakthrough in recording for the duo, and one of their best efforts. "Homeward Bound" had already been a top five hit in numerous countries and "Scarborough Fair/Canticle" performed similarly. The album peaked at number four on the Billboard Pop Album Chart and was eventually certified triple platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America. In 1999, the album was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame.


Label: Columbia – 495082 2
CD, Album
Genre: Rock, Pop, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Folk Rock, Pop Rock


  Scarborough Fair/Canticle
Written-By – Paul Simon And Art Garfunkel


2   Patterns 2:45
3   Cloudy 2:21
4   Homeward Bound 2:29
5   The Big Bright Green Pleasure Machine 2:47
6   The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy) 1:53
7   The Dangling Conversation 2:37
8   Flowers Never Bend With The Rainfall 2:10
9   A Simple Desultory Philippic (Or How I Was Robert McNamara'd Into Submission) 2:19
10   For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her 2:05
11   A Poem On The Underground Wall 1:52
12   7 O'Clock News/Silent Night 2:02

Bonus Tracks

13   Patterns (Demo) 2:53
14   A Poem On The Underground Wall (Demo) 1:51


  • A&R [Coordination] Darren Salmieri, Kyle Wofford, Patti Matheny
  • A&R [Legacy A&R] Steve Berkowitz
  • Art Direction Angela Skouras
  • Design [Reissue] Rebecca Waterfall, Skouras Design
  • Liner Notes [February 2001] Bud Scoppa
  • Liner Notes [Original Notes] Ralph J. Gleason
  • Management [Packaging Manager Reissue] Lily Lew
  • Management [Project Director Reissue] Mark Feldman (2)
  • Mastered By, Mixed By Vic Anesini
  • Photography By [Front Cover & CD Tray] Bob Cato
  • Photography By [Page 2, 9, 12, 15, 18] Murray Nietlich
  • Producer Bob Johnston
  • Reissue Producer [For Compact Disc] Bob Irwin
  • Written-By Paul Simon (tracks: 2 to 14)





Product Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review