Loading... Please wait...

Leonardo - The Absolute Man / Original Cast Recording / Magna Carta ‎Audio CD 2001 / MAX-9029-2

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Leonardo - The Absolute Man / Original Cast Recording / Magna Carta ‎Audio CD 2001 / MAX-9029-2

UPC 026245902923

Leonardo - The Absolute Man is a reasoned, selective re-telling of the life of a great man, Leonardo da Vinci, the ultimate Renaissance man. It has been in the works for years, originating as the ultimate artistic dream of Magna Carta label head Peter Morticelli, who then placed the intellectual blueprints in the hands of Trent Gardner who commenced to create what is by far, the most complex, grand and magnificently sweeping collaboration the label has ever attempted.

Leonardo sounds like no other progressive rock construct you have ever heard. It is a mix of cinematic progressive rock, symphonic rock, progressive pop and progressive metal, graced and articulated by true classical music and the theatrical scope of state-of -the-art soundtrack or dramatic stage music.

From the Artist:

Trent offers a little background into this pivotal Magna Carta project. "Once the idea got off the ground, I committed to doing some research and reading and once I got into the story I started to realize that there was a lot more there than I realized. I always had the view that Leonardo was just a Renaissance artist and that was it, and I didn't realize the full impact of his story. And that's when I got more inspired musically. We could have called this Leonardo - The Enigma. The trained scholars who have done the most research, all of academia - and believe me, I've run it all down - they don't know who this guy is. They know of him, they know things he did, but they don't know Leonardo the man. So what we tried to do is find out who he might be through those who were around him, look at some of the relationships there and deduce to the best of our ability and from the available academic information, who Leonardo was, making sure it was reasonably historically accurate. And the answer might surprise you. It really surprised me. There was much more to this guy than the artist who did The Last Supper or Mona Lisa. That was the LEAST that was amazing about him (laughs)." "I think there is no question that this is a melodic progressive rock album, but really heavy at the same time. I think we've broken some new ground here. Everything is a little more cohesive, the production values are high and the songwriting quality has definitely come a long way. I've found over the years that it takes a lot more craft to create a three or four minute song that has one or two ideas that have been developed. This seems to have the right mix and the right elements and above all, amazing vocal performances. I think we're making better music than we ever have before..."


Leonardo: The Absolute Man è un concept album rock progressivo sulla vita di Leonardo Da Vinci, ideato e prodotto dal leader dei Magellan Trent Gardner, che si avvalse di importanti collaborazioni del panorama quali James LaBrie (voce dei Dream Theater), Steve Walsh (ex voce e tastierista dei Kansas) e Terry Brown (produttore dei Rush). Il disco fu pubblicato il 24 luglio 2001 dalla Magna Carta.


Label: Magna Carta ‎– MAX-9029-2
Format: CD
Country: Netherlands
Released: 2001
Genre: Rock
Style: Symphonic Rock


  1. Apparition – 5:42
  2. Aria For Italy – 0:49
  3. With Father – 1:48
  4. Reins Of Tuscan – 5:49
  5. Reproach – 1:11
  6. Mona Lisa – 7:11
  7. Il Divino – 3:22
  8. Inundation – 1:07
  9. Apprentice – 6:56
  10. First Commission – 3:47
  11. Mother Of God – 1:06
  12. This Time, This Way – 6:05
  13. Inventions – 5:13
  14. Shaping The Invisible – 4:54
  15. Introduction To Francois I – 1:20
  16. Heart Of France – 5:57
  17. Sacrament – 1:11
  18. End of a World – 2:12


1 Apparition  
2 Aria For Italy  
3 With Father
Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Ser Piero] – Davey Pattison
4 Reins Of Tuscan
Chorus – Chorus, Vocals [Caterina] – Michelle Young, Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Lorenzo] – Josh Pincus, Vocals [Ser Piero] – Davey Pattison
5 Reproach  
6 Mona Lisa
Chorus – Chorus, Vocals [Caterina] – Michelle Young, Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Melzi] – Mike Baker (3), Vocals [Ser Piero] – Davey Pattison, Vocals [Verrocchio] – Trent Gardner
7 Il Divino  
8 Inundation  
9 Apprentice
Chorus, Chorus [Students], Chorus [Court] – Chorus, Vocals [Caterina] – Michelle Young, Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Melzi] – Mike Baker (3), Vocals [Salai] – Robert Berry, Vocals [Verrocchio] – Trent Gardner
10 First Commission
Vocals [Calco] – Steve Walsh, Vocals [Caterina] – Michelle Young
11 Mother Of God  
12 This Time, This Way
Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Mona Lisa] – Lisa Bouchelle
13 Inventions
Vocals [Calco] – Steve Walsh, Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Melzi] – Mike Baker (3), Vocals [Sforza] – Chris ShryackVocals [Verrocchio] – Trent Gardner
14 Shaping The Invisible
Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie
Introduction To Francois I  
16 Heart Of France
Chorus – Chorus, Vocals [Francois I] – Bret Douglas, Vocals [Leonardo] – James Labrie, Vocals [Melzi] – Mike Baker (3), Vocals [Salai] – Robert Berry
17 Sacrament  
18 End Of A World
Chorus – Chorus, Vocals [Entire Cast] – Bret Douglas, Chris Shryack, Davey Pattison, James Labrie, Josh Pincus, Lisa Bouchelle, Michelle Young, Mike Baker (3), Robert Berry, Steve Walsh, Trent Gardner



  • Concept ByPeter Morticelli
  • Design, IllustrationDave McKean
  • Executive-ProducerMike Varney, Peter Morticelli
  • Mastered ByJim Brick
  • Mixed ByTerry Brown
  • Music By, Lyrics ByTrent Gardner
  • Musician, BassSteve Reyes
  • Musician, Bass, GuitarLuis Maldonado (tracks: 12)
  • Musician, DrumsJeremy Colson
  • Musician, Drums, Percussion [Orchestral]Joe Franco (tracks: 12, 1)
  • Musician, GuitarPatrick Reyes, Wayne Gardner
  • Musician, Keyboards, TromboneTrent Gardner
  • ProducerTrent Gardner



  • Trent Gardner, tastiere e trombone
  • Wayne Gardner, chitarra
  • Jeremy Colson, batteria
  • Patrick Reyes, chitarra
  • Steve Reyes, basso


  • James LaBrie nella parte di Leonardo da Vinci
  • Michelle Young nella parte di Caterina Sforza
  • Davey Pattison nella parte di Senior Pierro da Vinci
  • Josh Pincus nella parte di Lorenzo de Medici
  • Lisa Bouchelle nella parte di Monna Lisa
  • Mike Baker nella parte di Francesco Melzi
  • Trent Gardner nella parte di Andrea del Verrocchio
  • Robert Berry nella parte di Salai
  • Steve Walsh nella parte di Calco
  • Chris Shryack nella parte di Storza
  • Bret Douglas nella parte di Francais I


  • Joe Franco, batteria e percussioni nelle tracce 1 e 12
  • Luis Maldonaldo, chitarra e basso nella traccia 12





Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Click the button below to add the Leonardo - The Absolute Man / Original Cast Recording / Magna Carta ‎Audio CD 2001 / MAX-9029-2 to your wish list.