Loading... Please wait...

China Masterpiece: Journey to the West, 10 DVD Collector's Edition / CCTV 1986 TV series

0.00 Ounces

Out of Stock

Product Description

China Masterpiece: Journey to the West, 10 DVD Collector's Edition


Journey to the West (1986 TV series) CCTV


Audio: Mandarin Chinese

Subtitles: Chinese (Simplified & Traditional), English, Japanese

ISBN: 978-7799806839 / 9787799806839

Based on one of China's most famous classical novels, this "live-action" CCTV production of Journey to the West is told through 25 adventure filled episodes of the Monkey King and his friends Pigsy and Sandy. Based on the true story of the monk Xuan Zang fairy tales, legents, superstitions, and popular beliefs are interwoven into the true account of the monk"s journey to create a novel that has endured down through China"s history. This DVD set is the perfect way to introduce your family to this ever popular story. In Mandarin and Cantonese only. You can choose either Mandrin or Cantonese on your DVD player. 25 Episodes in 13 DVDs, Mandarin and Cantonese. English & Chinese subtitles.


Journey to the West is a Chinese television series adapted from the classic novel of the same title. The series was first broadcast on CCTV in China on 1 October 1986. The series became an instant classic in China and is still being praised as the best and most authentic interpretation of the novel.  Unadapted portions of the original story were later covered in the second season, which was released in 1999.


Season 1 has 25 episodes and covers 74 chapters of the novel. The first trial episode was aired on 1 October 1986, and filming lasted until 1987. It was aired as a whole series in 1988. With the limited but relatively new special effects, the series received a viewership rate of 89.4% in 1987. The series has been rebroadcast every year since then. As of 2012, the series has been repeated on Chinese local channels more than 2,000 times.

  Chinese mythology, shenmo, fantasy, adventure
Written by Wu Cheng'en (original story)
Dai Yinglu
Zou Yiqing
Yang Jie
Directed by Yang Jie
Xun Hao
Ren Fengpo
Starring Liu Xiao Ling Tong
Wang Yue
Xu Shaohua
Chi Chongrui
Ma Dehua
Yan Huaili
Cui Jingfu
Liu Dagang
Theme music composer Xu Jingqing
Opening theme Ganwen Lu Zai Hefang (敢问路在何方) performed by Jiang Dawei
Country of origin China
Original language(s) Mandarin
No. of seasons 2
No. of episodes 25 (season 1)
16 (season 2)
Executive producer(s) Wang Feng
Ruan Ruolin
Producer(s) Yang Jie
Location(s) China
Cinematography Wang Chongqiu
Production company(s) CCTV
China Television Production Center
Distributor CCTV
China Television Production Center
Original network CCTV
Original release 1 October 1986 – 1999



Season 2 has 16 episodes (covers another 25 chapters of the novel). Filming began in 1998 and finished in 1999. It was broadcast on CCTV in 2000. The internal story of the second season has the four protagonists relating to Emperor Taizong of Tang via flashbacks of their travels and adventures, (namely those episodes not depicted in the first series) upon their return to China. Season 2 differs from the format of the first season, as most episodes end on a cliffhanger, with conflicts being resolved and new ones encountered in the middle of episodes in a more fluid timeline.




 Translated title in EnglishOriginal title in ChineseBased on chapter(s) of novelRuntime in minutes
1 Dangerous crossing at Heaven Reaching River 險渡通天河 47-48 43
2 A rift between master and disciples 師徒生二心 49, 56-58 44
3 The real and fake Monkey King 真假美猴王 58 44
4 Obstacle at Lion Camel Ridge 受阻獅駝嶺 58, 74 44
5 Meeting immortals at Peacock Platform 遇仙孔雀台 75-76 44
6 Buddha captures the Great Peng 如來收大鵬 77, 43 44
7 Heartbreak at Black Water River 情斷黑水河 43, 10 44
8 Capturing the Azure Bull Demon 收伏青牛怪 50-51 44
9 Praying for rain in Phoenix Immortal Prefecture 祈雨鳳仙郡 52, 87 44
10 Wreaking havoc in Fragrance Covered Hall 大鬧披香殿 87, 67 44
11 A dead end becomes the way 絕域變通途 67, 86 44
12 Shedding tears on Hidden Misty Mountain 淚灑隱霧山 86, 78 44
13 Rescuing children in a city 救難小兒城 78-79 44
14 Catching bandits in the land of bodhi 緝盜菩提域 79, 88, 96-97 44
15 Returning the soul of Benefactor Kou 還魂寇善人 97, 91 44
16 Admiring lanterns in Jinping Prefecture 觀燈金平府 91-92 43






 Translated title in EnglishOriginal title in ChineseBased on
chapter(s) of novel
Runtime in minutes
1 Birth of the Monkey King 猴王初問世 1-2 40
2 Put in charge of horses 官封弼馬溫 2-4 44
3 The Great Sage wreaks havoc in Heaven 大聖鬧天宮 4-7 57
4 Imprisoned under Five Elements Mountain 困囚五行山 7-9, 12-13 41
5 The Monkey King becomes Tang Sanzang's bodyguard 猴王保唐僧 13-15 51
6 Trouble in the temple of Guanyin 禍起觀音院 16-17 42
7 Getting Zhu Bajie by strategy 計收豬八戒 18-19 51
8 Facing three adversities during the tough journey 坎途逢三難 20-24 49
9 Stealing the Ginsengfruit 偷吃人蔘果 24-26 51
10 Three battles with the White Bone Demon 三打白骨精 27 48
11 Cleverly instigating the Monkey King 智激美猴王 28-31 52
12 Robbing treasure in the Lotus Cave 奪寶蓮花洞 32-35 51
13 Slaying demons in the Kingdom of Wuji 除妖烏雞國 36-39 58
14 Battling Red Boy 大戰紅孩兒 40-42 42
15 Defeating three demons in a contest of magic powers 鬥法降三怪 44-46 59
16 Interesting encounter in Women's Kingdom 趣經女兒國 53-55 59
17 Three attempts in taking the Palm Leaf Fan 三調芭蕉扇 59-61 50
18 Cleaning the tower and redressing a grievance 掃塔辨奇冤 62-63 54
19 Entering Little Leiyin Temple by mistake 誤入小雷音 64-66 55
20 The Monkey King becomes a physician 孫猴巧行醫 68-71 56
21 Falling into the spiders' cave by accident 錯墜盤絲洞 72-73 57
22 Four visits to the abyss 四探無底洞 80-83 62
23 Teaching in Yuhuazhou 傳藝玉華州 84-85, 88-90 59
24 Subduing the Jade Rabbit in India 天竺收玉兔 93-95 46
25 Arrival in the Land of Pureness 波生極樂天 98-100 50

Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the China Masterpiece: Journey to the West, 10 DVD Collector's Edition / CCTV 1986 TV series to your wish list.