Billie Holiday – On The Sentimental Side / Weton-Wesgram Audio CD 2005 / LATA083

No reviews yet Write a Review
5.00 Ounces
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Current Stock:Only left:

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. Tax
Total: Ex. Tax


Billie Holiday – On The Sentimental Side / Weton-Wesgram Audio CD 2005 / LATA083

UPC 8717423021544


Billie Holiday (born Eleanora Fagan; April 7, 1915 – July 17, 1959) was an American jazz and swing music singer. Nicknamed "Lady Day" by her friend and music partner, Lester Young, Holiday had an innovative influence on jazz music and pop singing. Her vocal style, strongly inspired by jazz instrumentalists, pioneered a new way of manipulating phrasing and tempo. She was known for her vocal delivery and improvisational skills.

After a turbulent childhood, Holiday began singing in nightclubs in Harlem, where she was heard by producer John Hammond, who liked her voice. She signed a recording contract with Brunswick in 1935. Collaborations with Teddy Wilson produced the hit "What a Little Moonlight Can Do", which became a jazz standard. Throughout the 1930s and 1940s, Holiday had mainstream success on labels such as Columbia and Decca. By the late 1940s, however, she was beset with legal troubles and drug abuse. After a short prison sentence, she performed at a sold-out concert at Carnegie Hall. She was a successful concert performer throughout the 1950s with two further sold-out shows at Carnegie Hall. Because of personal struggles and an altered voice, her final recordings were met with mixed reaction but were mild commercial successes. Her final album, Lady in Satin, was released in 1958. Holiday died of cirrhosis on July 17, 1959, at age 44.

Holiday won four Grammy Awards, all of them posthumously, for Best Historical Album. She was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame and the National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame. She was also inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, though not in that genre; the website states that "Billie Holiday changed jazz forever". Several films about her life have been released, most recently The United States vs. Billie Holiday (2021).


Label: Weton-Wesgram – LATA083
CD, Compilation
Country: Netherlands
Genre: Jazz


1   Lets Do It
2   I'll Be Seeing You
3   The Very Thought Of You
4   Time On My Hands
5   Strange Fruit
6   Travlin All Alone
7   Falling In Love Again
8   The Man I Love
9   Now They Call It Swing
  On The Sentimental Side
11   When A Man Loves A Woman
12   The Moon Looks Down And Laughs
13   If I Were You
14   Thats All I Ask Of You
15   Everything Happens For The Best*1efbr08*_ga*MjA2NTIxMjE2MC4xNTkwNTEyNTMy*_ga_WS2VZYPC6G*MTY0NTcxNzU2My4zMDEuMS4xNjQ1NzI1MjI1LjU3*1efbr08*_ga*MjA2NTIxMjE2MC4xNTkwNTEyNTMy*_ga_WS2VZYPC6G*MTY0NTcxNzU2My4zMDEuMS4xNjQ1NzI1MjI1LjU3*1efbr08*_ga*MjA2NTIxMjE2MC4xNTkwNTEyNTMy*_ga_WS2VZYPC6G*MTY0NTcxNzU2My4zMDEuMS4xNjQ1NzI1MjI1LjU3

Product Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review