Quartett DVD 2012 Kvartett - a nagy négyes / Directed by Dustin Hoffman / Starring: Maggie Smith, Tom Courtenay, Billy Connolly, Pauline Collins, Michael Gambon

No reviews yet Write a Review
5.00 Ounces
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Current Stock:Only left:

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. Tax
Total: Ex. Tax


Quartett DVD 2012 Kvartett - a nagy négyes / Directed by Dustin Hoffman / Starring: Maggie Smith, Tom Courtenay, Billy Connolly, Pauline Collins, Michael Gambon

UPC 5996471000098



AUDIO: English 5.1, Hungarian 5.1

Subtitles: Hungarian

Total Runtime: 94 minutes


English Summary:

Quartet is a 2012 British comedy-drama film based on the play Quartet by Ronald Harwood, which ran in London's West End from September 1999 until January 2000. It was filmed late in 2011 at Hedsor House, Buckinghamshire. The film is actor Dustin Hoffman's directorial debut.

The plot takes place in Beecham House, a retirement home for former professional musicians, patterned after the real-life Casa di Riposo per Musicisti founded by Giuseppe Verdi. Reg, Wilf and Cissy are retired opera singers who often worked together in the past; among other residents are Cedric Livingstone, a former director, and diva Anne Langley. All the guests in the retirement home are suffering in varying degree the ailments old age can bring but continue to be engaged in their former professions in one way or another, including lecturing and introducing young people to music.

Finances threaten closure of the home, but proceeds from a yearly gala concert on Verdi's birthday hold hope for a continuation of the place. However, Cedric has become rather desperate because some of the most prominent singers have either died or decided not to participate at all. Reg, Wilf and Cissy were in the cast of a very highly rated recording of the opera Rigoletto, which includes a famous quartet for soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor and baritone ("Bella figlia dell'amore"). This version is very prominent among opera buffs as THE Rigoletto of the post-war era.


Hungarian Summary:

Cecily, Reggie és Wilfred egy öregek otthona lakója. Az intézmény attól különleges, hogy itt elsősorban nyugdíjas operaénekesek élnek. A lakók minden év október 10-én koncertet adnak, hogy Verdi szülinapját ünnepeljék. Ezen a helyen minden békés, mindaddig, míg meg nem érkezik Jean, Reggie volt felesége. A nő dívaként viselkedik, beilleszkedni, azaz énekelni viszont nem akar.


Cast / Szereplők:

  • Maggie Smith as Jean Horton, Reg's ex wife and the soprano of the Rigoletto recording.
  • Tom Courtenay as Reginald "Reg" Paget, Jean's ex-husband who teaches classical music to teenagers, and the tenor of the Rigoletto recording.
  • Gwyneth Jones as Anne Langley, an aging diva, and longtime resident of Beecham House.
  • Michael Gambon as Cedric Livingstone, a cantankerous old director and longtime resident of Beecham House.
  • Billy Connolly as Wilfred "Wilf" Bond, a womanising, fun-loving former opera singer, and the baritone of the Rigoletto recording.
  • Pauline Collins as Cecily "Cissy" Robson, a kindly, slightly senile former opera singer and the mezzo-soprano of the Rigoletto recording.
  • Sheridan Smith as Dr Lucy Cogan
  • Andrew Sachs as Bobby Swanson
  • Trevor Peacock as George
  • David Ryall as Harry
  • Luke Newberry as Simon
  • Michael Byrne as Frank White

Many of the supporting and background cast in the film's "retirement home for former professional musicians" were portrayed by actual professional musicians, as illustrated by then-and-now photos during the closing credits:

  • Patricia Varley – Carl Rosa Opera Company
  • John Rawnsley – English National Opera (ENO)
  • John Georgiadis – London Symphony Orchestra
  • John Heley – Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Ita Herbert – English Chamber Orchestra
  • Graeme Scott – BBC Symphony Orchestra (BBC SO)
  • Cynthia Morey – D'Oyly Carte Opera Company
  • Jack Honeyborne – musical director for Vera Lynn
  • Nuala Willis – Royal Opera House
  • Melodie Waddingham – ENO
  • Colin Bradbury – BBC SO
  • Ronnie Hughes – toured in the Frank Sinatra Orchestra



Directed by Dustin Hoffman
Produced by Stewart Mackinnon
Finola Dwyer
Screenplay by Ronald Harwood
Based on Quartet
by Ronald Harwood
  • Maggie Smith
  • Tom Courtenay
  • Billy Connolly
  • Pauline Collins
  • Michael Gambon
Music by Dario Marianelli
Cinematography John de Borman
Edited by Barney Pilling
Headline Pictures
Finola Dwyer Productions
BBC Films
Distributed by Momentum Pictures (UK)
Release date
  • 9 September 2012 (TIFF)
  • 1 January 2013 (UK)
Running time
94 minutes
Country United Kingdom
Language English









Product Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review