Loading... Please wait...

Carreras, Domingo, Pavarotti, Mehta ‎– In Concert / Hungaroton Audio CD 1990 Stereo / HCDL 31145

5.00 Ounces

Product Description

Carreras, Domingo, Pavarotti, Mehta ‎– In Concert / Hungaroton Audio CD 1990 Stereo 


UPC 5991813114525

Carreras Domingo Pavarotti in Concert (re-released as The Three Tenors in Concert) is a live album by José Carreras, Plácido Domingo and Luciano Pavarotti with conductor Zubin Mehta. The album was recorded on 7 July 1990 in Rome as the first Three Tenors concert with the orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino and the orchestra of Teatro dell'Opera di Roma on the evening before the 1990 FIFA World Cup Final. It was produced by Gian Carlo Bertelli and Herbert Chappell.  

The concert is particularly known for the two recordings of "Nessun dorma". The first is sung by Pavarotti alone. The second, the concert encore, includes all three tenors singing individually and then, for the final 'Vincerò!' singing together - conductor Zubin Mehta appeared completely delighted with the effect this had.

  • José Carreras – vocals
  • Plácido Domingo – vocals
  • Luciano Pavarotti – vocals
  • Zubin Mehta – conductor
  • Maggio Musicale Fiorentino – orchestra
  • Teatro dell'Opera di Roma – orchestra
  • Lalo Schifrin – arranger


Label: Hungaroton - HCDL 31145
Format: CD, Album
Country: Europe
Released: 1990
Genre: Classical
Style: Opera, Modern, Romantic



No.TitleSong InformationLength
1. "È la solita storia (Lamento Di Federico)" (sung by José Carreras) Act II of L'arlesiana by Francesco Cilea 4:21
2. "O paradis" (sung by Plácido Domingo) Act IV of L'Africaine by Giacomo Meyerbeer 3:12
3. "Recondita armonia" (sung by Luciano Pavarotti) Act I of Tosca by Giacomo Puccini 2:37
4. "Dein ist mein ganzes Herz" (sung by Plácido Domingo) from Das Land des Lächelns by Franz Lehár 3:36
5. "Rondine al nido" (sung by Luciano Pavarotti) written by Vincenzo De Crescenzo 3:35
6. "Core 'ngrato (Catari)" (sung by José Carreras) written by Salvatore Cardillo 3:28
7. "Torna a Surriento" (sung by Luciano Pavarotti) written by Ernesto de Curtis 2:52
8. "Granada" (sung by José Carreras) written by Agustín Lara 3:41
9. "No puede ser" (sung by Plácido Domingo) from La tabernera del puerto by Pablo Sorozábal 2:43
10. "Improvviso" (sung by José Carreras) Act I of Andrea Chénier by Umberto Giordano 5:11
11. "E lucevan le stelle" (sung by Plácido Domingo) Act III of Tosca by Giacomo Puccini 2:40
12. "Nessun dorma" (sung by Luciano Pavarotti) Act III of Turandot by Giacomo Puccini 3:05
13. "Maria / Tonight / 'O Paese d' 'o sole / Cielito lindo" (sung by The Three Tenors) arranged by Lalo Schifrin 5:31
14. "Memory / Ochi tchorniye / Caminito / La Vie en rose" (sung by The Three Tenors) arranged by Lalo Schifrin 6:54
15. "Mattinata / Wien, Wien, nur du allein / Amapola / 'O sole mio" (sung by The Three Tenors) arranged by Lalo Schifrin 8:06
16. "'O sole mio" (sung by The Three Tenors) written by Eduardo di Capua 2:53
17. "Nessun dorma" (sung by The Three Tenors) Act III of Turandot by Giacomo Puccini 3:30




  • Tracks 13–15 are part of a song medley. Tracks 16 and 17 are encores.



1 Francesco Cilea Il Lamento Di Federico (È La Solita Storia)
Composed By – Francesco Cilea
2 Giacomo Meyerbeer O Paradis
Composed By – Giacomo Meyerbeer
3 Giacomo Puccini Recondita Armonia
Composed By – Giacomo Puccini
4 Franz Lehár Dein Ist Mein Ganzes Herz
Composed By – Franz Lehár
5 Vincenzo de Crescenzo Rondine Al Nido
Composed By – Vincenzo de Crescenzo
6 Salvatore Cardillo Core 'Ngrato
Composed By – Salvatore Cardillo
7 Ernesto De Curtis Torna A Surriento
Composed By – Ernesto De Curtis
8 Augustin Lara Granada
Composed By – Augustin Lara
9 Pablo Sorozábal No Puede Ser
Composed By – Pablo Sorozábal
10 Umberto Giordano L'Improvviso
Composed By – Umberto Giordano
11 Giacomo Puccini E Lucevan Le Stelle
Composed By – Giacomo Puccini
12 Giacomo Puccini Nessun Dorma
Composed By – Giacomo Puccini


Finale Medley

Unknown Artist Maria - Tonight - 'O Paese D' 'o Sole - Cielito Lindo 5:30
14 Unknown Artist Memory - Ochi Tchorniye - Caminito - La Vie En Rose 6:53
15 Unknown Artist Mattinata - Wien, Wien, Nur Du Allein - Amapola - 'O Sole Mio   
16 Eduardo di Capua Encore: 'O Sole Mio
Composed By – Eduardo di Capua
17 Giacomo Puccini Encore: Nessun Dorma
Composed By – Giacomo Puccini



  • Arranged ByLalo Schifrin (tracks: 13 to 15)
  • ConductorZubin Mehta
  • DesignAlex Smith (12)
  • Edited By [Tape Editor]Nigel Gayler
  • Engineer [Recording Engineer]James Lock (2), John Pellowe, Philip Siney
  • Liner Notes [Notes]Monica Rosolen
  • OrchestraOrchestra Del Teatro Dell'Opera Di Roma, Orchestra Del Maggio Musicale Fiorentino
  • Photography ByCarlos Picasso, Gianni Di Ludovico, Roberto Guberti, Vivianne Purdom
  • Producer [Recording Producer]Christopher Raeburn
  • Tenor Vocals José Carreras (tracks: 1, 6, 8, 10, 13 to 16), Luciano Pavarotti (tracks: 3, 5, 7, 12 to 17), Placido Domingo (tracks: 2, 4, 9, 11, 13 to 16)


This first Three Tenors performance and recording led to thirty-three additional concerts with Carreras, Domingo, and Pavarotti, as well as three more live audio and video albums. All were best-sellers.

The unexpected success of the album among general audiences led to a restructuring of the classical music industry into separate "core classical" and "strategic classical" areas. With the latter category, the industry now geared its focus toward reaching new audiences via intense performer-centric marketing strategies.





Product Reviews

This product hasn't received any reviews yet. Be the first to review this product!

Customers also viewed

Click the button below to add the Carreras, Domingo, Pavarotti, Mehta ‎– In Concert / Hungaroton Audio CD 1990 Stereo / HCDL 31145 to your wish list.